"Ratemynuts" Worm?

Can someone please help me out

I received a message from my friend when I signed in that read:

"lol, wtf! h t t p : / / ratemynuts. net/nuts.php msn=myemail@hotmail.com"

With my own email address replacing "myemail" and there were no spaces (I just didn't want to make the link clickable, just in case).

Has anyone heard of this worm I tried looking it up, but I couldn't find anything. Please help!

-Sarah



Answer this question

"Ratemynuts" Worm?

  • Pradeep Gupta

    There is solution to fix your annoying problem:

    Remove ratemynuts messenger virus

    Damn viruses =S

  • Thomas Greenleaf

    Yeah, I got the same thing from one of my friends. Though if what someone said, about it being .com then all email adresses .co.uk are ok I clicked it and it linked to http://grassfire.org, which seems to be a safe site Anyways, so far I havent noticed it, just running a virus scan now.

  • Ben Jacobs

    i think Norton should be fine :/ if you have the newest one then it should be updated to all viruses :/ and i clicked on the link too, but nothing happend, there was a pop up from norton saying that messenger was attempting to access my computer or something like that, and I dont' think Norton even alows the program to be installed on the computer :/ soo it should be fine :]
  • Ben Taylor

    So if I have say, Norton antivirus it should be safe right :P I clicked on the link without really looking. Darnit...
  • HelpMePl0x

    Hmm I just visited the page, and I am just redirected to a google page with a 404 - not found error. Doesn't look very dangerous to me, but it is a bit weird... Maybe you should ask your friend if he did send it, or that it was sent out automatically
  • Kumar Venkat

    i wouldnt recomend using norton or avg free, i use bitdefender10 and have found it to be far more better than the two put together

  • GoDaddy

    This link is contained in a popup window that otherwise looks identical to the one that notifies you when someone on your list signs in to Messenger. If you click on this link, it will automatically send the same popup message to everyone on your Messenger list, and they will receive it next time they sign into Messenger. Firsthand experience. I do not know if any of the anti-virus programs, or sypware programs, etc. yet have definitions to eliminate it.
  • Tom Helm

    ok someone said if it begins www11. but i just had ht tp://www77 .ratemynuts.net/view_nuts.php msn=myemail@msn,com obviosly the my email bit was replaced by my personal email i clicked it and nout happend, it came up page not founf and summink about grassfire.org

  • Yogesh Kumar

    I RECEIVED THE SAME MESSAGE!

    IT'S A TROJAN HORSE!

    now the link for the download is redirected to a google page, but 2 days ago, it was a link to a download. The download had your email adress email@hotmail.com. That's a funny way to hide the ".com" extension for a MS-DOS application. DO NOT BY ANY MEANS CLICK IT (unless you have an antivirus that will prevent the program from running).



  • Peter Haik

    Yeah, i guess so. It worked fine with AVG 7.5 (free dition)

  • David100

    My friend just got this too. I'm not clicking the link myself but a few sweeps with a fully updated spybot s&d / windows defender / avast! should clear it.

  • Bill Reiss

    yea, i dont know but my friend got it and she had mcaffee and its screwing up her computer, so my advice is to just spread the word not to download it if it comes to you. Chances are if it comes to you its probably come to some of your friends. I hope this is useful...

  • "Ratemynuts" Worm?